Hello. I am brand new to model ship building and am wondering what is a good way to learn. Can a person learn this hobby from books? If so what are some good ones? I have not yet  attempted a ship yet but I have ordered the Viking ship from Amati. I’ve read that it’s a good starter kit? I hope it will not be to  difficult .

thanks....

Gidday irishrover and a warm welcome from the Land Downunder.

Re your question on learning from books, personally I try to gain an understanding from the written word then I learn the technique from practical application.

Re books, I have learnt and enjoyed  Mastini's Ship Modelling Simplified. Riche's Ship Models from Kits. 

Dressel's Planking Techniques for Model Ship Builders.

Some may say these books are getting a bit old but I have found them a good resource at a good price.

I encourage you to start a build log when practical.

There is a wealth of knowledge here and members give advice freely.

Feel free to ask questions.

Wishing you all the best with your build.

Mark.

You'll learn something useful from every book you buy, or at least that is my experience, and it's why most modelers have a whole slew of books. Look on Amazon for ship modeling in books, anything with good reviews will be worth buying. This includes books specifically about rigging, which is a subject in and of itself.

The easiest kits I'm aware of to build are the Master Korabel kits from Russia (you could even start with a small rowboat), every single part is laser cut so really it's mostly just assembling wooden parts. A normal ship kit will have a recognizable keel and bulkhead formers, but is otherwise a pile of sticks and you get to make most of the parts. Most modelers like that challenge but it can be an intimidating place to start.

Welcome to MSW, Irishrover.