What first wooden ship kit should I buy.

SHIPSCAT

Hi Gals and Guys

My name is Jolene Jo to my friends.

When I was younger I did build plastic models and I liked that very much.

As I am new to this fantastic forum, I am hoping someone can help me select a model to build.

I am looking at some Mamoli kits.

1) Hunter,  2) IL Leudo,  3)  Black Prince,  4)  Lexington.

After looking round the forum do you think the Hunter, Lexington and the Black Prince will be a wee bit on the hard side for a first time builder.

This would leave the IL Leudo, as a good first time build, or do you think I should jump in with two feet and go for a more complicated build like numbers 1,3,and 4.

Jo.

Current Build:

IL Leudo - Mamoli - 1:34

FD10 Arnanes 701 Billings scale 1:50

"Good conversations are the ones you have with people you do not know"

Probably none of the above. They'd all probably "be a wee bit on the hard side for a first time builder. "  But with the disclaimer than I'm not directly familiar with any of the kits you've mentioned. I trust somebody will come along and address them specifically.  Mamoli, for what it's worth, suffers from a reputation for poorly translated instructions from the Italian. That wouldn't be a problem if you spoke Italian and were familiar with Italian nautical nomenclature, but...

If you want to see what you'd be getting into tackling Mamoli's il leudo model, here's a "first build" build log by another builder who built that kit with help from other forumites who walked her over some rough spots.