Triton Cross Section by Snowmans

I am part way through the Cross Section build, and will put up all the pictures I had. The text will have to be reduced to a few notes. This is my first attempt at scratch building, and all the timber used is cut down from what I have in the shed. Mostly recycled native timber beams, or logs that have been drying for several years. I have been working on this now for about 18 months.

Sanded to thickness.

201201071505261.jpg

Home built thickness sander.

20111227151524.jpg

Ready to start cutting.

20120107153738.jpg

20120107160051.jpg

Yeah, I have some the pictures I have taken but none the text. I know when I started the build I spent several hours going through all the past build logs and getting information.This was a great help. I figure others will do the same.

Frames cut out and seperated into each frame. I used two colors to tell the front and rear parts for each frame.

20120120213433.jpg

Sanding the outside radius. This sander I built with a motor from work that was going to be thrown away.

20120211161311.jpg

Sanding the inside radius. I have since upgraded the drill press so would be a lot easier no do now. The old one had a wobble in the chuck.

20120211162321.jpg

Snowmans

I was watching your build before the crash. How I will be able to continue watching. Thanks for re-posting the build. Looks good.

Ron

Ron

Current Build: H.M.S. Triton Cross Section 1:48

Why is it that I always find out the best way to do something is after I have already done it the wrong way? - Me

Your framing looks very good. Nice work. I look forward to seeing more progress.

Russ

It's looking really good. Glad to have you and your post back here. B)

Rusty

"So Long For Now" B) 

Current Builds: HMS Winchelsea 1/48  Duchess of Kingston

Completed Build Logs: USF Confederacy , US Brig Syren , Triton Cross Section , Bomb Vessel Cross SectionCutter CheerfulQueen Anne Barge, Medway Longboat