New to MSW

Hi all and thank for accepting me as a member on this forum. I’m living in the south of the Netherlands in a city called Rotterdam. I'm 54 and working as a safety advisor in the maritime sector for an Dutch offshore company. As a young kid I started to build plastic air planes, cars and tank kits. In my youth I worked for several years as a carpenter and parqueteer and so I have some experience with wood. Somewhere in 2000 I started with my first wooden ship the HMS President, (Sergal kit) which I finished recently. That it took more than 20 years to finish a build requires some further explanation.

Despite the lack of knowledge and experience, the construction of the hull went quite well. But with 2 big hands, the lack of knowledge, proper tools and clear instructions, rigging was less easy for me. As a result, I lost interest and saw the layer of dust getting thicker over the years.

Since September 2019 I have been at home due to circumstances. To avoid getting bored I picked up my old hobby and took the ship model off the shelf. After some research on the internet I bought the necessary tools and materials and started all over again with the rigging. With the information found on the internet, I finally managed to finish my first model ship.

Now that I have finished the president, I have been caught by the modellers virus and recently started my second ship the Hermione Lafayette, (Artesania Latina kit) of which I have almost finished the hull. Finally, I would like to thank everyone for those beautiful build logs and information that made it possible for me to finish my ship.

Best regards

IMG_0094.jpg

:sign:

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section