HMS Fly by Starlight - Amati/Victory Models - 1:64 - first build

Hello all,

This is my first ever model and my first time posting on this forum.

As a bit of background, I am a grad student in my early 20's. I suspect this places me firmly in the minority regarding the demographics of this forum. I consider myself to possess a reasonable engineering/technical background for my age. I have somewhat good access to tools and consumables for the purposes of this build. My interest in ships of this era stems mostly from naval fiction and non-fiction literature. As such I am unfamiliar with some of the terminology involved in shipbuilding.

The HMS Fly kit from Victory Models was represented to me as a solid choice for a "confident beginner". I hope to inherit some of the knowledge from the experienced modelers on this forum, and those that have also built this kit before.

Here are the box and contents that I received back in August:

box.thumb.jpeg.1f02e4551afc5fcd17146f58498179e8.jpegcontents.thumb.jpeg.39af5a9891c7ba03914699397ad008ec.jpeg

Photos of the build progression to follow in subsequent posts.

-Starlight

Dry-fitting of the false keel and bulkheads back in early September:

bulkheads_1.thumb.jpg.50c72f7c0db8526588549f4ff7f47052.jpg

At this point I have two questions:

1. The instructions state: "it is recommended that the stern area of the false keel to which the rudder post will be glued to is sanded to roughly half of its original width. This is because once the second planking is complete... less sanding will be required to attain a flush finish between the keel edge and rudder post." Does anyone know exactly how much area needs to be reduced to half-thickness? I am unable to visualize the final result after second planking that the instructions refer to.