Help for beginners

Marty2

Hello hobbyists.   

I am brand new to this hobby and cant wait to get started.

Most hobby shops and suppliers are not overly helpful in my experience, so I am delighted to find this forum.

I am looking for some guidance on a couple questions.

1.  First project... this is what I am planning.... comments/suggestions?

https://www.modelerscentral.com/ship-model-kits/starters-packs/port-jackson-schooner-1803-starters-pack/

2.  Books and literature.   Any suggestions for books to help me learn the hobby?

3.  Tools, glues, accessories.   Any suggestions on what glues, tools, accessories that I should have on hand to get started?

Thank you so much for any guidance and assistance you can provide.

Welcome to the site!  I personally would start smaller unless you have some experience.  I’ve built a few smaller models in the last few years and that one looks like it’s tough!   Best of luck on whatever you decide, but my advice is start small, invest less, and enjoy!

Hi Marty and welcome to MSW.

If you haven't built any wooden ships I like to suggest to go NRG's shop and buy the halfhull.

This kit will give you a lot of needed skills for more advanced models.

Signing up as a NRG member will also give you 20% discount of the model. Well worth the money. 

Please, visit our Facebook page!

Respectfully

Per aka Dr. Per@Therapy for Shipaholics 
593661798_Keepitreal-small.jpg.f8a2526a43b30479d4c1ffcf8b37175a.jpg

Finished: T37, BB Marie Jeanne - located on a shelf in Sweden, 18th Century Longboat, Winchelsea Capstan

Current: America by Constructo, Solö Ruff, USS Syren by MS, Bluenose by MS

Viking funeral: Harley almost a Harvey

Nautical Research Guild Member - 'Taint a hobby if you gotta hurry

Welcome to MSW!