What kit to get

Edwardkenway

Hi I'm new to model building in wood though I have modelled plastic kits  and was wondering which kit to go for (I would prefer a naval brig or cutter )

I would be grateful for any input 

Thanks 

Current builds;

Henry Ramey Upcher 1:25

Providence whaleboat- 1:25     HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48 

Completed:

HM Cutter Sherbourne- 1:64- finished    Triton cross section scratch- 1:60 - finished 

Non ship:  SBD-3 Dauntless 1:48 Hasegawa -FINISHED

Gidday Edward and a warm welcome from the Land Downunder.

You pose a very interesting question and the answer is anything but straightforward.

Many considerations including, scale, type or class, budget and ability need to be considered.

I would suggest a search of the various build logs to assist in your model selection.

One major consideration is obviously your preference in model as you may receive a lot of recommendations.

Obviously these are just some of my personal thoughts and I sincerely hope I haven't confused the issue.

Wishing you all the best in your search.

Mark.

I'd suggest that for your first you look at something like the Endeavour's Long Boat. It'll give you a basic lesson in planking, rigging, mast tapering and a chance at mucking up without costing you a fortune. There are a number of builds here including mine below my signature. Get that under your belt then go for a cutter before attempting a multi-mast build would be my recommendation.

Rick 

Thanks for the thoughts on my question. Although I have not built a wood boat I do have some experience of  modelling from scratch, mainly scenery for wargaming you know buildings, rivers, trees etc...  I have been reading some of the build logs on here and have been drawn to HM Cutter Sherbourne as she seems to fit my brief and will give me some experience with rigging a mast and yards. 

So thanks to all on here.

Current builds;

Completed: