Frank J H Gardiner Painting

michaelpsutton2

As you all know I am a painter. Last week I came across this beauty in a thrift/consignment store. Naturally the subject caught my eye. On closer examination I began to develop the delusion that it is an original, an idea that becomes ever firmly rooted in my feverish brain as time has gone on. I can see faint pencil lines under the wash. I can see the tips of the oars under the white gouache of the sea foam. The name is certainly hand lettered on the matting and the gold stripe is a thin piece of something glued on. I have not removed it from the frame. It seems somewhat more detailed than other works by this artist. I thought it could be a hand tinted print, but I do not see any other copies of thus composition for sale. Anybody know anything about this painting or about this guy? Anybody know how to tell if it is real/original?

IMG_2363.JPG

IMG_2366.JPG

IMG_2364.JPG

IMG_2365.JPG

Drown you may, but go you must and your reward shall be a man's pay or a hero's grave

The way to tell a print from an original is to put a magnifying glass over it. If you see a pattern of tiny colored dots, it's a print. If not - congratulations!

Be sure to sign up for an epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series  http://trafalgar.tv

Aha! I knew it was the Victory just by looking at the escutcheon figurehead, before I saw the title (maybe because I've previously built two plastic Victory models).

Beautiful painting. Wish I was that good . . . (sigh).

Steven

Edited by Louie da fly

Frank Joseph Henry Gardiner was born in 1942 in England. His works have sold at auction from $149 up to $2017. So, did you get a good deal?

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

2 hours ago, michaelpsutton2 said:

$2017 is an interesting number. Why not an even $2000