Greetings from Roswell Georgia

Hello all!  I am brand new to ship modelling although it is something I have been interested in my whole life.  Over fifty years ago I bought my first ship model, I believe it was a Billing Boats schooner of some sort although I don't remember which one.  I opened it up, read the instructions, realized how difficult it would be and set it aside.  Somewhere along the way, after 15 or so moves, it disappeared.  About 20 years ago I picked up the Midwest Peterboro Canoe kit at a local hobby shop, saw that it called for using CA glue which I am sensitive to and set it aside.  Since then I gave it away.  So I have not yet actually built anything!  Along the way I have assembled a small library of books on sailing ships and model ship building which I enjoyed reading but still did not build anything.

So now I am an old man with nothing but time on my hands and have finally decided to take the plunge into wooden model ship building.  After perusing this site and others for a week or so I went online to search for my first kit.  Having read the advice about starting simple I decided to try and find a Midwest Level 1 kit.  I sorta went crazy and ended up buying four level 1 kits, the Skiff, the Flattie, the Crabbing Skiff and the Grand Banks Dory (all from eBay).  I also bought the Lobster Smack, the Sharpie Schooner and the Dinghy, all level 2 kits.  In addition I ordered a bunch of tools and building supplies from Amazon.  Then to compound my craziness, today I ordered the Model Shipways Shipwright 3 Ship Combo from Model Expo (it was on sale, how could I resist?).