HMS Winchelsea by James G (Jim) - 1:48

Greetings!

I’m showing up a bit late to the party but hope this build log will still be relevant. I’ve enviously watched everyone’s builds since the group project began and have been working to improve my own skills to the point where I’m ready to take the plunge. I think now the time is right. I’m not getting any younger and after 3 POB builds of various scales I’m thinking why not? I’m pretty new to model ship building as I’ve only been seriously doing projects since 2019. I have grown to love the hobby and the quality of the work members of this forum post daily never fails to awe and inspire me.

Ok, a few basics on my build. I’ll be doing my version in Cherry and will mainly be purchasing Chuck’s laser-cut mini kits. In fact, I’ve already purchased the kits offered through Chapter 5 to keep me busy for a while. I’ll be using birch ply for the bulkheads. I’m dreading the faring but wanted the added strength. I’ve purchased a scroll saw and already have a Jim Byrnes Table Saw. I plan on cutting my own planks.

My wife and I are visiting our daughter and grandkids in Cincinnati now. I’m wrapping up an electrical project I’ve been doing at my daughter’s house. We return to Michigan next week and I then plan on making some sawdust.

Thank you for looking and more importantly for all the wonderful sharing so many of you have done over the last several years.

Best,

Jim

24E5DBC0-4FE5-48AF-B347-701931668989.jpeg

8B3B4381-1487-4170-8B95-5BAD69A7D79B.jpeg

0C738DBD-53A9-4F02-835E-FDE063E47BBC.jpeg

Jim 

Current Build: HMS Winchelsea, Model Shipways Mayflower 

Completed Builds: NRG Half Hull Project  

Model Shipways 18th Century Armed Longboat

Dumas 1954 Chris Craft 36' Commander

Dumas 1940 Chris Craft 19' Barrel Back