Seeking paint advice for Bluenose II

Hi 

As a newbie. I am after some advice on types of paint.

What do you use on the wooden models.

Is it acrylic or oil based like humbrol.

Building my late father's model,taking time planking etc, but the video says sand and fill before painting. Thought a decent planked Hull wouldn't need painting.

Any way back to the question ebay paint would you suggest 

Many thanks 

Simon

4 minutes ago, Simon29 said:

Is it acrylic or oil based like humbrol.

Either will do. It largely depends on what you're used to working with. Personally, I use acrylics simply because they're cheaper, they clean up with water, and I don't use an airbrush.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

I am not a paint expert, but I have been using acrylic paint on my hand-brushed Bluenose. Goes on the wood well (after a white primer underneath) with a couple of coats on the hull, and the brushes clean up nicely with water and a drop of Dawn detergent. 

Gregg

Current Projects:                                                     Completed Projects:                                                                 Waiting for Shipyard Clearance:

Bluenose 1921 1:64 - Model Shipways                   Norwegian Sailing Pram 1:12 - Model Shipways                    Yacht America Schooner 1851 1:64 - Model Shipways

Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack 1:24 - Model Shipways        RMS Titanic 1:300 - OcCre  (Couldn't help myself when it was on sale)

H.M. Schooner Ballahoo 1:64 - Caldercraft                             USS Constitution  1:76 - Model Shipways

Santa Maria Caravelle 1:48 - Ships of Pavel Nikitin