Masts and Bowsprit - Glue or Not?

Curious, do folks glue in the masts and bowsprit or have people been successful with wedges and rigging to hold them in place??  I am new to this and getting close to fixing my bowsprit - glue seems almost like cheating.  Who does this without glue?  How is the longevity?  Any tips either way?   Thanks in advance.  (I searched in Masting using "install" and "glue masts" but didn't find much - suggesting maybe glue is the only option - did see one thread on putty to fix masts which was interesting.)

All thoughts appreciated.

20240430_195126.thumb.jpg.235c2bfcc0fa3257604279f8eaaaed0a.jpg

I am fairly new to the hobby, so I can’t speak to longevity.  On my first build I use PVA, but I don’t think I needed to.  On my second build I didn’t use any glue.  The bow sprit, foremast and main mast went in straight and are held there by the shrouds.  The mizzen mast wanted to lean a little so I used some wedges to get it straight and then relied on the shrouds to keep it straight.  

Completed Build:   HMS Beagle - Occre

Current Build:         Frigate Diana - Occre  https://modelshipworld.com/topic/33530-frigate-diana-by-rossr-occre-185/

On the Shelf:           Santisima Trinidad Cross Section - Occre, NRG Half Hull, the US Brig Syren - Model Shipways and USF Essex - Model Shipways.

Glue isn't needed. After all the rigging is installed the masts and bowsprit aren't going anywhere!

I prefer to install the cradles for the bases of the mast on the keel/keelson and frames for just below the deck planking while the hull is open to work on. I get everything aligned so the masts are aligned and raked correctly. Then when the masts are finally inserted into the hull they will be aligned correctly.