Jim Cricket

New Member from Brooklyn, NY

Good afternoon. I’ve just joined this forum, and would like to introduce myself. I’m a woodworker and boat builder/sailor in Brooklyn, NY. I have built models in the past, and now that I’m mostly captive, at home in our current crisis, I’ve pulled together some supplies to explore some further model making.

My main interest is small, working watercraft, particularly from the Chesapeake Bay region. I know that most of you are ship modelers, so I hope an interest in smaller craft doesn’t rule me out. Even in “real life”, my interest is more about traditional small craft, than ships, per se. If I’m in the wrong place, let me know!

My earlier models were planked, half models. The first was a 1:8 Marblehead “Beachcomber” Dory. The second was a Matinicus peapod.

2models1_w.jpg.b91a4b7659d303639bca3da4a8297e74.jpg

I built a full size Matinicus too, rigged as a yawl.

jimouse.jpg.a37572b3806790d6772ef370f638f9e5.jpg

I don’t know if there is any interest in these, but I do have some documentation. Beginners like me might find it interesting. I work from my own lofted lines, with materials I have milled myself. I have made my own “plywood” from Alaskan cedar veneer, vacuum bagged in three layers that equal about 1/16”. Perfect for 1:8 scale planking of boats of this type.

At any rate, I’m just starting a couple of new models, this time full hulls, with proper interiors. I’m building a Chapelle double ended sharpie, from lines and offsets I got from the Smithsonian.

DEsharpie_ConstPlan.jpg.03f6c4559288377b3ae7fa0eda3c85d5.jpgDEsharpie_Plans.jpg.c057a90ebb7a4c94e703561ecbc29923.jpg

And another beachcomber dory. I lofted that boat previously. I’ll start a thread, if there is any interest from the ship builders.

Thanks!
Cricket