Thermopylae by Devildog36 - Mantua - 1:124

So I ordered this kit and it is out for delivery today.  It's my first large wood model kit and the first model kit in over 30 years.  I was an avid modeler of mostly plastic kits until College.  I'm a few years from retirement and decided to restart my hobby.  I have been reading the abundance of material on this site and  watching many videos.  I'm looking forward to the challenge.  I've found these kits for this ship as far back as the 1980's but have no idea when the first wood model was.  I found it listed on many sites but most were out of stock with no idea when they would be restocked.  I paid more for it than I should have but I found the last one available from an Amazon store and decided to pull the trigger anyway.   I will appreciate any feedback, positive or negative on the build and any suggestions as well.  Attached is the manufacturer's photo

Thanks

p5201b.jpg

1 hour ago, Devildog36 said:

I was about to post photos of the plans to show how nice they are but after reading the post on pirating I’ve decided against it.

No fears. Posting a photo of a portion of the plans, e.g. part of a plan sheet, for review purposes is covered by fair use exemptions.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

6 hours ago, Jim Lad said:

Looks like it will build into a nice model, but beware of the rigging. From the manufacturer's photo, it looks like a work of fiction.

John

Indeed. Look at those braces..! That's unusual... 

😞

Might be good to look for an alternative rigging plan.

Rest looks good though.

Peter

8 hours ago, baskerbosse said:

Indeed. Look at those braces..! That's unusual... 

😞

Might be good to look for an alternative rigging plan.

Rest looks good though.

Peter