Sutton Hoo Anglo-Saxon ship burial - footage of 1939 excavation

Louie da fly

Though this video is ostensibly about the sword found at Sutton Hoo, the footage of the excavation is fascinating. None of the timber survived - they figured out the shape of the ship, frames, planking and nails by following the discoloration in the sand of the burial mound. How's that for careful work! 

Steven

3 hours ago, Jim Lad said:

I had trouble trying to come to grips with excavating and entire ship by looking for the sand discolouration.

Same here. How do you stand in the ship's "hull" to keep your footprints from interfering with what's already been excavated?

Steven

A great tragedy of Sutton Hoo was that the painstaking work of the local archaeologist, Basil Brown, a self-taught but very talented amateur, who so carefully exposed the shape of the hull, and established the importance of the find, was all set at nought by the pompous academics of the time. 

Conscious of the chance for a healthy dose of glory, the big names muscled in on the project, trying to forbid further work until they had assembled a team of their own kind. Basil was relegated to pushing a wheelbarrow, and I am fairly certain that his name was not even mentioned in the first reports written by the claim-jumpers. 

The finds were donated to the British Museum by the landowner. 

As for how the shape of the ship was revealed without damaging it, that was obviously part of the under-appreciated skill of Basil Brown, and will be shown somewhere, as huge numbers of photographs were taken.