Hello from a newbie with L plates on!

Pirategirl

Hi everyone,

I have been on this forum for a week or two now and thought I would get brave and introduce myself. It’s clear from what I have read that this is a great community with a wealth of knowledge and I love the way everyone is encouraging and supportive. 

I live in regional Western Australia, and as I stated in the topic, I am brand new to this hobby. I have always been a closet model train lover and also love model muscle cars. But I have to admit that the craftsmanship involved in model ship building makes this seem far more personal and each piece is a work of art!

I am fortunate enough to have a hands on mentor who suggested this forum to me. I know many people rely on online support only. What started for me as taking an interest and being supportive of his hobby has started to turn into a bigger interest for me... probably just as well as I can see this fast becoming something to be completely immersed in!

i will be starting with a kit build which I hope to refine as my skills develop, but I do hope to be able to get to a point where I can build by scratch. As time permits with a few little ones at home to work around still!

Maybe I will get brave and start a build log!

thanks and looking forward to being part of this forum!

Jas 

Welcome to MSW Jas,

This is a brilliant forum and you have chosen well. Have you decided on a kit? Whichever one you chose good luck. If you do get stuck during the build you will find the members here very helpful. Whichever kit you chose someone will almost certainly be building the same kit. And please do start a build log. Looking forward to seeing your progress in this wonderful hobby.

Paul

In work

Amati-rms-titanic-1912-1250

Unfinished kit

Revell Container-ship-colombo-express

Finished

AL -  King of the Mississippi

AL-Sanson

Hello Jas and welcome to MSW from the UK.