Intro - Toe in the Water

Hi Everyone,

Moved to waterfront and feel the need to have a ship in the house. I've been modelling off and on for nigh on 50 years (had a bit of a hiatus during my military career) - mostly military miniatures then figurine painting, an O scale railroad, etc. I came across a Billings Boat model of the Mayflower in a second-hand store. It had been started (I'm told the lady had expert guidance but didn't get to finish it but all the parts were there) which makes me a little leery but... I've been perusing the site and the web for assistance and it appears that I inadvertently chose a dark horse. Only a few people even attempted it and less completed it. The instructions are a joke - at best they are guidance. So much to learn! So I have a hull that has been decked and some planking applied above the deck level and that is my starting point. At some point I will go through the box of parts to see what I have but first I need to finish building my work bench (I also dabble in furniture building) to fit my new hobby room. I figure I have lots of research and learning to do before I get going anyway. 

Anyway, that's me. I had good experiences with the model railroad line and hope to duplicate that here. There are some fantastic pieces of work here!

Cheers from Vancouver Island,

Dave

LCdr Dave

Current Build: Mayflower - Billing Boats

:piratebo5:welcome to MSW 

Current builds;

Henry Ramey Upcher 1:25

Providence whaleboat- 1:25     HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48 

Completed:

HM Cutter Sherbourne- 1:64- finished    Triton cross section scratch- 1:60 - finished 

Non ship:  SBD-3 Dauntless 1:48 Hasegawa -FINISHED

:sign:

Best is to start a build log 

Regards, Patrick

Finished :  Soleil Royal Heller 1/100   Wasa Billing Boats   Bounty Revell 1/110 plastic (semi scratch)   Pelican / Golden Hind  1/45 scratch

Current build :  Mary Rose 1/50 scratch

Gallery Revell Bounty  Pelican/Golden hind 1/45 scratch