Hello. I am not all that new to modeling or woodworking for that matter, but I am now retired and decided to take up a new hobby. I have always loved tall ships and admired their models so I decided to try one myself. I have been a professional musician for decades, owned a computer repair shop for years, taught myself lampworking (solid glass work) and been a professional artist (graphite) One of my drawings is on the cover of a book at Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M65CKO0/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1 Hopefully a link like that is allowed here ... I only share that to show I have an eye for details. I am a moderator at an art site teaching drawing so I am comfortable with WIPs (works in progress) which you call logs on this site. In any case, I am ready to start my first wooden ship model. To that end I purchased Model Shipways' USS Syren and have been carefully reading the instructions by Chuck as well as going over the logs here. Some unbelievable work!! I can only hope to complete the kit but not to have skill on the level you guys do ... I will undoubtedly need assistance along the way so I hope to interact with some of you.

Ken

Edited by SparrowHawk7

Hello Ken, welcome to MSW. It is a great place, I look forward to seeing your Syren.

Bruce

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

Ken, welcome to MSW. I look forward to seeing your Syren build. MSW members are very helpful, anytime you need assistance, just ask.