Free hull form creation training workshop

Over the last few months I have been asked to do some training on how to take lines plans and take them to the point in 3d that sections can be checked, new  frames cut, the plan can be checked and corrected for fairness and even things like planking and plating developed.

I will be covering a  lot more than this to, and will attempt to answer questions on the fly

I am based in Australia so will try to make a  time that suits as many as possible, but will record the lessons as well

I am a professional 3d artist and qualified trainer with many years in marine modelling, not so much the math side of Naval Architecture but the creation of hull forms in 3d from old plans or scan data, even how to make a lines plan from deck views and profiles with no  body plan.

I will be running a free live workshop over the Xmas break using Zoom.

23rd Dec starting at 6.00am Brisbane time

4-5 hours

This post is to allow people to ask questions about the workshop and express interest so I can gauge numbers.

This post is not for discussion of other software if that is your goal I suggest starting a new topic, I will be showing the industry standard and it is the standard for good reason.
I ask that you please keep this to questions about content and interest only thanks.

I will be using the standard software for this work which is Rhinoceros 3D and although it is the ideal tool the lessons can be ported to other applications.
This workshop will be using fairly basic concepts and not be over complicated, but I would suggest you are familiar with working in 3d in some way however if you want to learn this later by all means come along and see how it’s done and then decide later if it’s something to learn for you.

Some of the topics covered include

Re-drawing lines accurately

Fairing curves and surfaces

Build a usable hull surface that can be used to build an accurate model

Develop frames, built up, ring  and bulkhead