ratlines,tarred or not?

I always thought(&read) that ratlines were tarred black? Now I read that they were left in natural hemp!

The reason being that in tropical seas the tar would melt & stick to Mariners feet. I can see both being feasible, but which one is correct, maybe both !?  Geoff

Though I'm no expert, it would make sense that the ratlines would be left natural (though I've featured them as black on every model I've built save one), for the reasons noted above....this might be another area of heated debate between historical accuracy and modeller's preference.....

hamilton

current builds: Corel HMS Bellona (1780)

previous builds: MS Phantom (scuttled, 2017); MS Sultana (1767); Corel Brittany Sloop (scuttled, 2022); MS Kate Cory; MS Armed Virginia Sloop (in need of a refit); Corel Flattie; Mamoli Gretel; Amati Bluenose (1921) (scuttled, 2023); AL San Francisco (destroyed by land krakens [i.e., cats]); Corel Toulonnaise (1823); 
MS Glad Tidings (1937) (in need of a refit)HMS Blandford (1719) from Corel HMS GreyhoundFair Rosamund (1832) from OcCre Dos Amigos (missing in action); Amati Hannah (ship in a bottle); Mamoli America (1851)Bluenose fishing schooner (1921) (scratch)

under the bench: Admiralty Echo cross-section; MS Emma C Barry; MS USS Constitution; MS Flying Fish; Corel Berlin; a wood supplier Colonial Schooner Hannah; Victory Models H.M.S. Fly; CAF Models HMS Granado; MS USS Confederacy

I'm not sure that running rigging was always left natural. Would not be surprised to find out that a light coat of Stockholm Tar was applied and well worked in or tallow was worked into the fiber rope for lubrication and protection of the fibers making up the rope. Running around blocks, belaying pins, etc there is normal movement of the fibers against each other making up the rope. Even being tensioned and slacked will cause the fibers to rub together.

jud

Edited by jud