HMS Victory by rkwz - AIRFIX - Scale 1:180 - First plastic ship build

This is my first attempt at model ship building... I plan to move on to wooden ships but thought I'd try my hand at a plastic ship first to ease into the hobby.

The kit requires quite a bit of time spent removing the excess flashing. I tried my hand at acrylic paints initially but decided to stick to Humbrol enamel paints (hand painted) as recommended in the manual.

Instead of Humbrol 81 Matt Pale Yellow, I opted for 63 Sand Matt as I felt it didn't look as bright and had a more muted tone.

Got a sore throat while painting the hull and wondered if it was due to the solvents in the enamel paint. Cured it with some whiskey but will be sure to wear a face mask moving forward...

IMG_20191106_220948.thumb.jpg.32a3d586c7925c775cf1359cd07e7869.jpgIMG_20191115_122222.thumb.jpg.165c978fdac977ef6e25828d0909f144.jpg

I painted the sections first before glueing them thinking it would be easier to paint them this way. I used Tamiya Extra Thin Cement to glue the hull and bottom deck to start and noticed some slight dissolving of the enamel paint. Will touch them up later but maybe glueing them first would have been wiser...

Glued on the deck posts first but now starting to regret it as I foresee some issues aligning the upper deck above this (could knock them over).

IMG_20191115_122218.thumb.jpg.372871b6ab29612d24ddfbd59c3410ef.jpgIMG_20191117_221136.thumb.jpg.ed960dd5eeb8f885a9a856b8de4c8a4d.jpg

Hopefully these decisions won't come back to bite my behind later in the build. I am however enjoying the build process immensely.

As a total newbie, I have a few questions to ask:

1. I used a fine handheld drill to reopen the holes in the hatches but in the process, the holes became round and lost its original square shape. Is there a better way to do this?