Matthias from Berlin, Germany says Hello

I've been stranded here many times, always looking for news from model making. From today I am finally part of the Model Ship World forum.

Until my English is a little better, the Google translator should help me here.

So excuse my writing style.

The model building has been my companion for many years with interruptions.

A new start in 2005 in historic sailing ship model construction came to an end with the construction stop of HMS Victory by Sergal.

Not satisfied with the kit model, I have been building a simple fishing boat for 6 years to improve my material and tool skills. I look forward to a good time with all of you in the exchange of knowledge and practice. I already know some names here and I really like what I saw as a guest.

see you soon Matthias

Welcome Matthias, I look forward to seeing your fishing boat.

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

Matthias,

Welcome to MSW.  :piratebo5:

I applaud your decision to stay with the hobby and go with a simpler model.  Many are attracted to the hobby by the big fancy ships, only to be easily discouraged.  I had a similar start as you.  I wanted to build HMS VICTORY and USS CONSTITUTION but I eventually went smaller/simpler and worked on my skills.  Now I am building ship types I have never heard of before and having much fun.

Chuck Seiler
San Diego Ship Modelers Guild
Nautical Research Guild

Current Build:: Colonial Schooner SULTANA (scratch from Model Expo Plans), Hanseatic Cog Wutender Hund, John Smith Shallop
Completed:  Missouri Riverboat FAR WEST (1876) Scratch, 1776 Gunboat PHILADELPHIA (Scratch 1/4 scale-Model Shipways plans)

Welcome to MSW, Matthias.  Glad to have you onboard.

Mark