HMS Snake by Mike_H - FINISHED - Caldercraft - 1:64

And so it begins.  This is my second build, having caught the bug earlier this year. That makes me a novice, and I plan to show other novices the process of climbing the learning curve.  Many have been here before me, and you can find build logs of their work.  Those I have found are by @Beef Wellington, @Stone, @Vane, @mispeltyoof, @Davemc, @jim_smits, @peteri and @BenD.  Should I be worried that none of them is finished?

Edited by Mike_H

Welcome to the snake club!

There are a few finished Snakes on this forum but this kit is a challenge. I have been working on mine for 2 years, I'm burnt out. I'm moth balling it and working on some easier projects and will return to it at some point. It's a decent kit with mostly good materials but it's not very good for newer modelers.  You did well on your longboat so I feel you may be ready. good luck!

I'm going to hop into a Master Korabel kit, they seem to be more my skill level.

So first point of discovery for this novice: what's in the box?  The white paper in the plastic bag is a set of A0 (approx) detailed plans.  There are three small pieces of ply missing - but they arrived in the post today.  Biggest surprise is the beautifully machine brass carronades - no nasty castings for me!

(and is it just me, or is picture sizing impossible to control)

IMG_0371.jpg

IMG_0367.jpg

IMG_0370.jpg

Edited by MIke_H

39 minutes ago, MIke_H said:

and is it just me, or is picture sizing impossible to control

There was a thread today regarding people having issues resizing. Personally, I prefer to resize images before uploading (but I understand the convenience of doing it in the editor).

Looks like an interesting build! 

Edit: Link to thread: 

Edited by VTHokiEE

I like the drawing holder idea. I have been looking into getting one of the below but not located in the UK yet.

1144855882_SharedScreenshotmap.thumb.jpg.c95dfb50f60d715ea4e343eeb2aefdee.jpg