Medway Longboat 1742 by Freebird - FINISHED - Syren Ship Model Company - 1/2” Scale

New year and my first wood build! A little about me, I’m a lifetime modeler, mostly R/C planes and scale helicopters. Back in the 80’s I also got into R/C subs and had a lot of fun/success. I won a lot of National awards with my scale helicopters and just love to build. I retired a year ago after over 40 years of building jet engines, so I have the time now to enjoy my building. About 40 years ago, I tried to build a Billings Cutty Sark and as can be imagined, I failed miserably. Now, after reading the way awesome builds on this site, I decided that now was the time to get started. 

For my first build, I decided on Chuck’s Medway Longboat, it’s such a beautiful project and it’ll help me develop skills I need for my next project, Chuck’s Cheerful. I like to start new projects on January 1, as it makes it easy to see how long it takes to build. Actually, I started this build about a week ago and it has been a wonderful change of pace. Chuck’s efforts in designing and implementing his designs are of epic proportions! I’ve never seen such detailed laser cutting and his practicums are fabulous, as is all of the fantastic builds on MSW. So without further ado, here we go.

I'm going to pass on showing the kit parts, as there are many already posted in the group build.

I started with the easy keel to ease into the build and then built the lap-joint keel. Frames have been assembled and fitted to the building board. Keel has been glued in place and is drying. I expect to start fairing the frames later tonight. A task I’ve never done. Enjoy!

Regards … Rick

414FF9D0-192C-4B0D-8537-6076FF04A9FA.jpeg

DE051900-65AB-4C80-BC97-CCC88E49D247.jpeg

8597EED8-4660-45C8-8F96-6E3FDCFDF604.jpeg

B2AF7205-D29B-480C-B23A-FE245BAA3491.jpeg

6822F448-E9C8-48B0-AE4F-0AF77E44C24E.jpeg

2034BAE6-30AE-454E-989C-F23CA72C9B50.jpeg