Hello from Leicester, England

Hi All, Nic here from Leicester.

I understand this is a familiar story....Ive recently inherited a model ship built from scratch by my grandfather, at least half built. He never completed it after doing the majority of the hull it seems. No idea what to do with it but I am a keen amateur woodworker albeit not a modeller. I am considering taking up the hobby to complete this fine model he's started although if someone else fancied it that would be equally fine.

First of all I need to work out what ship it is. My googling has not yielded anything except clarity its not the Mary Rose to my mothers surprise. He was a member of the many Rose society so I think it was assumed to be that ship early on.  

Is anyone able to advise what ship it is or offer any suggestions/advice on what to do next with it! maybe tips how to start this interesting hobby.

Many thanks,

Nic

image.thumb.jpeg.39fceafe16a219b41b0ce198cf344d5f.jpeg

F7AB283B-EBDD-4FB1-9B64-C2FAF0D0E808.thumb.jpg.fbd75449b7642e9d531289304158c4b3.jpgC0AB3796-B870-4944-9D7E-87CB33E3580F.thumb.jpg.7629ee8cdc3b9825b7672bfe306c26ce.jpg134F3B6C-0B7A-4FD8-810B-234D6FC9B502.thumb.jpg.653de89223548211f97f3ae1b5fde962.jpg30C0E047-5013-45A4-A710-0F3D6DC92107.thumb.jpg.99dfb43574c479523020f83a30c4812e.jpg

Welcome to MSW, Nic.   There's some very nice work there on that model.   As to which ship...  I take it no plans, notes or anything else related found?   This may be hard to sort out.   It looks familiar, probably late 1700's and English I'd guess.  I hope someone else will recognize it.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section