Greetings from Annapolis, MD!

Middyman

Hello,

Thought I'd drop a note and introduce myself.  My name is Matt and I am a long time plastic modeler but have always had an interest in the Age of Sail.  I am a sailor in real-life and have sailed for years on the Chesapeake Bay.

That said, I am coming back to this hobby after a long hiatus.  My problem is I have dreams and I am a kit hoarder.  I've lovingly kept several wood ship kits in storage and I've decided to bring them back out and start working them down.  My ultimate dream is to complete four specific kits to near-museum quality over time.  These four are: Artesania Bluenose II, Mamoli Hunter Armed Cutter, Mamoli Blue Shadow Big and HMS Vanguard (Amati or Model Shipways).  I don't own Vanguard yet but I do own the others.

My biggest challenge is where to start!  

I hate solid hull kits and I have enough prior modeling experience that I'm comfortable with plank-on-bulkhead kits.  I tried an Artesania Swift as a teenager but didn't know how to bend planks properly.  So that got tossed years ago.  But I do have an unbuilt Swift in the pile.

Looking for guidance on which would be my most likely first success.  I have a Model Shipways Katy of Norfolk (the older PoB kit, not the current solid hull kit) that is framed up but not planked that I've had in storage and leaning on starting back there.  Downside is a lot of the bulkhead timberheads are broken off.  Manual shows an alternate bulkhead that I can build up from the deck so all is not lost.  If nothing else it would be a good hull to potential practice skills on.

Or should I start somewhere else?  Here's what I have in the pile...

Artesania Swift 1805 Pilot Boat

Artesania Bluenose II

Corel Scotland Cutter

Mamoli Black Prince Privateer 1775

Mamoli Blue Shadow Brig

Mamoli USS Constitution

Mamoli Hunter Armed Cutter

Mantua Le Superbe

Model Shipways Katy of Norfolk Pilot Boat

Model Shipways Syren Brig

Model Shipways 1:24 Armed Longboat