New from Brisbane, Australia

Jii

I'm new to modelling of any kind and the only nautical knowledge I have is from reading all of Patrick O'Brian's novels. I opened a 15 year old gift a few days ago (H.M.S. Endeavour -Artesania Latina) and made a few tentative beginnings. Wisely I read the cautionary note by Chris Coyle before blundering on further.

I'm looking at a couple of easier kits, from Modellers Shipyard based in Sydney, and wondering what the experience has been with these kits. I'm especially interested in the quality of instructions provided, which with the LA kit (albeit 15 years old) are very basic.

I can't speak to their instructions, but Modellers Shipyard kits have been generally well received. We currently have sixteen build logs on hand for various Modellers Shipyard kits, which you can check out by clicking here.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Welcome from Ballarat! 

1 hour ago, Jii said:

the only nautical knowledge I have is from reading all of Patrick O'Brian's novels.

Well, IMHO that's a good start.

There are a few threads with recommendations for beginners' models - have a look at this one - 

Though I'm not a kit builder, Model shipways and Vanguard seem to be well recommended for beginners, with clear instructions.

Welcome!

Building: 1:64 HMS Revenge (Victory Models plans)

1:64 Cat Esther (17th Century Dutch Merchant Ships)

On the building slip: 1:72 French Ironclad Magenta (original shipyard plans)

On hold: 1:98 Mantua HMS Victory (kit bash), 1:96 Shipyard HMS Mercury

Favorite finished builds:  1:60 Sampang Good Fortune (Amati plans), 1:200 Orel Ironclad Solferino, 1:72 Schooner Hannah (Hahn plans), 1:72 Privateer Prince de Neufchatel (Chapelle plans), Model Shipways Sultana, Heller La Reale, Encore USS Olympia

Goal: Become better than I was yesterday

"The hardest part is deciding to try." - me