Good Morning

Don Case

My name is Don and I've decided to finally build a ship.  In 2000 I took up R/C sailboat racing (IOM's) and did that for 14 years. In that period I build about 6-7 design IOM designs so I have some experience with bulkhead and plank type builds. I also made a scale model of the "Cecily". A schooner that was built in about 1903 to go after the Olimpic medal. I will post pics if wanted after I figure out how🙂. I also made a gaff rigged clinker skiff. In that period I bought a copy of "The 50 Gun Ship". In 2013 I lost interest in IOM racing. ( I had to drive 200 miles every weekend to find people to race with) and took up archery. I made 80 or so wooden bows and then got tired of that last year. So here we are in 2021 and I'm looking for something to keep me busy. I'm 73, I live on Vancouver Island, British Columbia. I have a table saw of sorts, a metal lathe/milling machine, drill press and a band saw. I have made an attachment for the lathe that functions as a thickness sander. I also made a small 4" table saw from an old grinder and scrap aluminum channel for cutting planks. I think I have all the tools I need. I did a search on the "Leopard" and ended up on toms10's thread so I decided to sign up.

DSC04229.JPG

DSC04231.JPG

:sign:

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever: