Hello Everyone

Andyrew

My name is Andy and I have been building models for about the last 50 years since my late Uncle got me an Airfix Spitfire when I was about 7 years old. Having built mostly plastic models I now want to concentrate on wooden models, I find wood much easier to work with than plastic and I've always been impressed by ship models especially sailing ships. I recently completed the St. Gabriel by Master Korabel which I found to be quite a challenge.

ACtC-3cPIrisSPrsorzyTkZCEl_ex73ZPOHOFbK7

Cheers Andy

Hello Andy,

That is a nice looking model. Welcome to MSW.

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

Good morning Andy,

My general background has also been plastic, but I've been doing wood ships since 2001 (with a break of a few years in there too), so it's nice to see someone with a similar background join here. St. Gabriel is a beautiful kit and you really did a corking job on her. 

Question is....what is next? 

Oh, and 

:sign:

Welcome aboard Andy.   Your model looks lovely and I hope you will be starting a build log on a future project.

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Welcome to MSW Andy,

Your St. Gabriel looks great! What do you think you will make next? Look into starting a build log on your next one so we can all follow along!

Bradley

Current Builds:

Flying Fish - Model Shipways - 1:96

Future Builds:

Young America 1853 - Scratch Build - 1:72

Completed Builds:

HMS Racehorse - Mantua - 1:47 (No pictures unfortunately)

Providence Whale Boat - Artesania Latina - 1:25 (Also no pictures)