To Sail, or Not to Sail...

I'm new to the wooden ship model scene. I picked up what seems to be a neat book for beginners like me called 'Ship Modelling Simplified', by Frank Mastini (ironic name). It's kind of cool to see that someone who spent so many years building wooden ship models was expounding the basics, and helping people new to the hobby not feel overwhelmed with the challenges ahead. So far I'm enjoying the book. He has some neat ideas for simple jigs as well.

Anyways, I was reading ahead a bit, and to my surprise, he wasn't super keen on the idea of full sails. To sum up my perspective of his opinion.... 1) Sails are a lot of effort, 2) they will never appear true to the scale of most model ships, 3) getting more realistic with sails makes the rigging much more complicated, and 4) they pretty much hide a lot of your hard effort detailing the masts & rigging. 

So I was curious what people here thought about having sails unfurled, versus models that just show off their masts & rigging and keep sails furled. What's your preference? Is there a time to go furled vs a time to go unfurled? What ships can pull off unfurled sails best? 

I think you'll find a wide divergence in opinion on this one - I've done both, but despite the reasons you've quoted against sails, I feel sails are a sailing ship's raison d'être, so should be shown. Yes, the fabric available is never going to be fine enough to replicate real sails to scale (though even this can be largely solved by using silkspan).

I think there are valid reasons for both furled and unfurled, and it's often a matter of what you're intending to portray. It would be quite interesting, for example, to show a ship hove to, so the sails on one mast are facing the opposite way to the others - or a ship with sails drying, or partially furled.