Kits Available of HMS Victory, looking for suggestions from builders

Steven Gottlob

Hi Steve and welcome to MSW! You’re about to dig into a can of worms with this one, you may want to post this topic over here:

https://modelshipworld.com/forum/24-wood-ship-model-kits/
or just search it out as it’s been covered extensively. I personally haven’t built victory but there are many fine examples here. If I were ever going to build a victory kit I’d look at the Caldercraft one, but the new Amati release looks to be promising as well in 1:64.

Current Builds: HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48 - 5th rate 32 gun frigate (on hold for now)

HMS Portland 1770 Prototype 1:48 - 4th rate 50 gun ship

Hi Steven,

The last part of your post set off an alarm bell in my head. I am also a first time model builder. I would simply ask you one question: are you prepared to take on a truly monumental project, one that may take you several years?

Forgive me if I sound like I am disrespecting your skills or motivation. It is just that when I was getting into this hobby, I too was enamoured with the idea of building a ship of the line, and quickly realized from browsing the many amazing builds here that I was way in over my head. I decided to cut my teeth on a simple sloop of war first, and it has already taken me over 2 years (and I still have not completed the hull).

I'm sure others will be quick to chime in, but to start, if you have not already seen it I would recommend this excellent thread by @ccoyle:

Whatever you decide, I wish you luck.

-starlight

9 minutes ago, starlight said:

Hi Steven,

The last part of your post set off an alarm bell in my head. I am also a first time model builder. I would simply ask you one question: are you prepared to take on a truly monumental project, one that may take you several years?