Due to display space limitations, my proposed build of the Davis Lexington will have to be in 1:72 scale. As I have been calculating timber sizes etc., I suddenly realized last night that the real ship would have had hull planking of around 3" thickness. In 1:72 scale, that is barely over 1MM. Being a newbie, my first reaction was, good grief! How do I get wood that thin? And what species of  wood can be worked that thin?

Then I recalled that people like McNarry and others have built amazingly detailed models at 1:100 or less, so my question is, how does one get wood so thin that the scaled planking would be accurate? 

A couple of ways....

Order 1mm thick sheets and cut for the width of the plank.

Or.....

Cut it with a small table saw as close as you can.  Then run the cut pieces through a thickness sander.  If not thickness sander... hand sand very carefully.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)