New To Building Ships Help and advice needed

Richard O

Hello. I'm new to this so please excuse me if I'm not posting properly.

I'm looking for advice on my first build. I'm looking for a wood ship in around 36" long, give or take. Larger would be too difficult to display I would think.

I'm 57 years old, semi retired as a building inspector  with a lot of experience building highly detailed radio controlled ww2 aircraft ( large scale ) from scratch, highly detailed plastic model airplanes etc. I'm very familiar with working with wood and balsa and small parts. I have patience and good knowledge of materials and working with them. I've worked with silk and dope ( for those of us here old enough to know what that is ), and detailed spray painting 

I always wanted to build a war ship. One example I found was the Montanes Model Boat Kit – Occre (15000). It's a tad large though I find. I don't know very much about ships or the history of them. I'm building it for the pleasure of detailing it and the challenge. Less for historic reasons however I want a ship that's a war ship in wood with plenty of cannons and masts. 

I'm looking for advice on the best kit that would range between say $400.00 and $800.00 or more. I don't mind, in fact I prefer to add additional details to make it even more detailed. 

The look of the large sails and war canons I found very cool and looks like a lot of fun to build.

Can anyone suggest a high end kit for me?

Welcome to MSW Richard, 

It sounds to me like you have quite a bit of experience in working with models! I will say that building wooden ship models and working with wood is different, you will find the different techniques can take awhile to perfect and because of this I would be wary about starting with a 400 dollar kit.