New member looking for kit advice

JDillon

Hi all,

Thank you all for allowing me to join. In London in the UK. New to the hobby although always wanted to do it since visiting the HMS Victory as a child. 

I am asking this so to avoid making newbie mistakes, could someone please advise me of a good ship for a first build. Looking at a caldercraft one as it seems to be a good quality brand and easy to get delivered. I have no prior experience, no tools yet or spare bits to fabricate missing or scratch built items. 

I did meet a lovely 91yr old man whilst carrying out a fire safety inspection the other day that had several impressive builds in his home, he was willing to tutor me should i need help or advice. ive looked at possibly the HM Cutter Sherbourne or HM Schooner Ballahoo or HM William wooden sort of ships?

Thank you 

Joe

If it moves Grease it if it doesn't Paint it.....

Current Builds: Occre, Polaris                                                          Shopping List: Vanguard, HMS Sphinx                            

Occre, HMS Terror                                                                            Vanguard, HMS Flirt

Occre, Endurance

Completed Builds: 0

Hello, J, and welcome aboard.

The early Caldercraft releases, while good kits, do not have extensive instructions. Another UK manufacturer that offers several suitable beginner-level kits with great instructions is Vanguard Models.

One of the best ways to scout for good beginner kits is to browse the kit build logs section. Look for any build log that is tagged "first build." Clicking that tag will pull up a list of all first-time build logs. Then look for those that are tagged "finished" -- that will show you which kits beginners were actually able to complete.

Enjoy shopping for your project!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix