Where to start?

Nixa Jim

I'm 75 YO, I have extensive experience with woodworking, mainly furniture, etc. So I have no problem with following directions (except from  LOML😀). I don't think I need to start at level 1 or 2. Am I wrong with probably a level 3?  I'm interested in sailing ships but possibly a Navy battleship. 

All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

Jim

I'm 71 and been building (mainly plastic) models for over 60 years, but went over to wooden sailing ships nearly a year ago.

Can I recommend the Polaris by Occre as a perfect entry kit. The instructions are very full and there is a video aid available which seems to cover every aspect. I found it a delightful ship to make and was delighted with the result, which is so important for encouragement towards the next build. 

Regards and welcome from another  Jim.

Edited by Friedrich Ihn
Forgot to sign off

Welcome aboard Jm. Sure, certain skills in cabinetry transfer well to wooden ship models, but some skills will need miniaturizing!

Be sure to sign up for an epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series  http://trafalgar.tv

Hi Jim. Number 1 rule for me is build a vessel that interests you. Try to stay away from more complex hull types such as Victory, Bounty, Endeavour. ie. anything with a bluff bow.

Don't expect the instructions to go from A - Z with no problems in between. Indeed, some manufacturers will only provide somewhat rudimentary instructions, and often not in

English.

Don't worry if your build doesn't come out looking exactly like the exquisite picture on the box. These are models most likely built by "expert" modellers and photographed by

"expert" photographers.

Have fun!

Chris.

2 hours ago, Nixa Jim said:

possibly a Navy battleship. 

Not many options for this in wood ship modeling..

You might take a look at this:

Not to label you as a rank beginner, but there is some great information there about getting started in wood ship modeling..