Model prices vs quality

Flypast

Hello,

I hope this question has not already been asked elsewhere.

I must say first up that i suffer from several serious emotional disorders, the most dangerous being FOMO.

So, having discovered ship building and not long ago purchased my first kit, i have been looking at several different manufacturers and comparing similar subjects.

I am looking at adding to my stash for a rainy day, and for a time when my skills are sufficient.😏

So my question is, what differences are there between a $1700 model and one that is less than half that ?

e.g  A Caldercraft Victory .....not a cheap kit. 

What does one get for a kit that is, in some cases, more than double in price of others.

I can guess probably the obvious....wood quality, scale.

Can anybody enlighten me as to the differences in a kit with such a price difference.

I am new to this hobby and maybe somewhat naive 😐

Regards

JR.

Believe me, my young friend,

there is nothing – absolutely nothing -

half so much worth doing as

simply messing about with boats.

(The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame)

OK  I will start the debate with the following proposition:

I have no data to back this up, but for most any assembled kit, the quality of the build is almost a non factor, provided that it meets an acceptable standard.  The sale price would probably be about the same as the retail price of the original kit.  For a $1700 Victory, I doubt that the compensation would even reach that amount.  Those with money to burn will want something original.  Victory, Sovereign of the Seas, or Constitution are anything but original, unique, or rare.  Those likely to value these particular ships are also those most likely to purchase a kit and build it themselves.

Being realistic,  you will never be paid what is needed to cover the number of hours - even at present minimum wage.