Newbee wantng to say hi

"HI"

That said, I hope these forums are what they seem to be, very helpful and informative for us greenhorns. I've been lurking here a few days now and like what I've seen so far.

I've never built a wooden boat before and The African Queen movie made me fall in love with the steam launch that Bogart and Hepburn sailed down the river in.

Now retired, I have tons of time on my hands and have watched that movie a good half dozen times or more already. I searched the net for a model of that boat and found a couple versions of it so bought the Billing Boats version. Due here last Friday, I've found that it hasn't even left Europe yet. That's OK... I can wait...

Meanwhile, I've also fallen in love with live steam. I've bid on a boiler on ebay and won! The engine I want is a bit steep but I can save up for it. The only issue I have here is that I know very little about steam.

Anyway, I welcome any and all the advice and help I can get from you guys.

Thanks,

a.k.a. Rick

'Don't fry bacon in the nude'

Current Build: Billing Boats, S/L Livingstone, a.k.a. African Queen (When it arrives that is)

Next Up: La Nina

Welcome to MSW, Rick.    I have seen a few live steam models in the Scratch area but I'm not sure how many there were or even if they were finished.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever: