My metal ruler was wrong.

ruler1.jpg.cf15f9bbf183380484309bffb7f4d7db.jpg

I bought several metal rulers (Up) $1 each. I wasn't surr of the accuracy of them, so I tested them with my stock rulers (Down). 

Surprisingly, my favorite metal ruler, which has been used for 10 years, was wrong. 🤪

ruler2.jpg.a128b782d9be3947b843fd37eff3d842.jpg

I examined every rulers I own and discovered that only this old ruler has a different scale...

ruler4.jpg.a9bc0f7b6c4233bb9a13b3e813da394a.jpg

I've used it since I was an international student. It was a bit of an awkward truth... I'll check every ruler I buy. 😆

Masa, it happened to me too, but in the workplace. It was an expensive lesson.

Thanks for posting. 

Edited by bruce d

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

How much precision do you need?

Even with the OP example I am having trouble seeing where the error lies as the two examples are shifted.

When I take the image and line up the markings, they appear pretty close to me..

Ruler3.jpg.f9f6af1d00c567a6c1ea7a6e3885ac9d.jpg

My altered image.

If you have two rulers that are different, how do you know which one is wrong?

Edited by Gregory

“Indecision may or may not be my problem.”
― Jimmy Buffett

Current builds:    Rattlesnake (Scratch From MS Plans 

On Hold:  HMS Resolution ( AKA Ferrett )

In the Gallery: Yacht Mary,  Gretel, French Cannon

It could be the case that the "zero" has worn down over time on one of the rulers.

If you own calipers I would probably just check the ruler against that, since it will typically be made to higher accuracy than the ruler. You can also buy gauge blocks for a reasonable price. A pair of 1-2-3 blocks is cheap and I've found them to be very useful while modelmaking.

-starlight